Region Ortenau

The Ortenau fascinates by a unique triad of countrysides: dainty wine-planted slopes in the middle, fertile meadows on the banks of the Rhine on one side, and the romantic mountains of the Black Forest on the other side.

The region extends about 60 kilometers from Baden-Baden along the Black Forest hills to Offenburg, which makes it Germany’s most southern Riesling region. Besides this elegant vine, which is here also known as “Klingelberger”, the Ortenau achieves to convince above all with mellifluous and abundant Pinots. Most of the vineyards are located in steep valleys of creeks or rivers, so they are protected from cold winds; the total wine growing area extends over 2,700 hectares.

The mild climate and 1,700 sunshine hours per year make the Ortenau a golden wine countryside. The character of the Riesling originates from the vineyard: The weathered granite and gneis soils, which partially contain portions of porphyr and quartzite, give the wine noticeable mineral tones, a slim structure, transparent flavors, and a vivid freshness. Pinot noir often can be found at lower altitudes with rich soils and a relatively high portion of sand. It is characterized by a complexe puzzle out of cool fruit, smokey nuances, velvety tannins, dark berries, and full extracts. None of Germany’s growing areas has been honored with as many awards, nationwide and at international level, as the Ortenau.

The traditional structure of the sorts, the quality, and the exclusiveness will impress you. We have compiled detailed information about the terroir of the Ortenau wine growing region in our “experts’ knowledge”. Or are you searching a certain vintner from the Ortenau? You will certainly find him in our “vintners’ search”.

Region Ortenau

Betschgräblerplatz, 77815 Bühl
Telefon: 07223/9898

Talstrasse 2, 77877 Sasbachwalden
Telefon: 07841/2029-0

Mauerbergstrasse 32, 76534 Baden-Baden
Telefon: 07223/9687-0

Nachtweide 2, 7770 Durbach
Telefon: 0781/93660

Renchener Strasse 42, 77704 Oberkirch
Telefon: 07802/9258-0

Stauferstr. 10, 77972 Mahlberg
Telefon: 07825/7582

Lautenbach 2, 77770 Durbach
Telefon: 0781/42458

Heimbach 12, 77770 Durbach
Telefon: 0781/41486

Steinebach 24, 77876 Kappelrodeck
Telefon: 07842/996999

Burgunderplatz 3, 77876 Kappelrodeck
Telefon: 07842/9967500

Kirchstr. 4, 77871 Renchen-Erlach
Telefon: 07843/654

Weinstr. 87, 77654 Offenburg-Rammersweier
Telefon: 0781/31424

Burgunderplatz 1, 77876 Kappelrodeck
Telefon: 07842/99380

Edekastraße 1, 77656 Offenburg
Telefon: 0781/502-6190

Hespengrund 11, 77770 Durbach
Telefon: 0781/41165

Talstrasse 30, 77704 Oberkirch-Ringelbach
Telefon: 07802/980868

Sondersbach 6, 77723 Gengenbach
Telefon: 07803/7970

Schloss Staufenberg, 77770 Durbach
Telefon: 0781/93 22 79 55

Gaisbach 29, 77704 Oberkirch
Telefon: 07802/2387

Schloss Eberstein 1, 76593 Gernsbach
Telefon: 07224/657071

Am St. Andreas, 77799 Ortenberg
Telefon: 0781/93430

Grol 8, 77770 Durbach
Telefon: 0781/42362

Weinstr. 37, 77876 Kappelrodeck-Waldulm
Telefon: 07842/94890

Our winemakers in this wine region

Region Ortenau

Die Ortenau fasziniert durch einen einzigartigen landschaftlichen Dreiklang: anmutige Weinhänge in der Mitte, fruchtbare Rheinauen auf der einen und romantische Schwarzwaldberge auf der anderen Seite.

Die Region erstreckt sich ca. 60 Kilometer von Baden-Baden entlang des Schwarzwaldes bis nach Offenburg und ist damit Deutschlands südlichste Riesling-Region. Neben dieser eleganten Weinrebe, die hier unter dem Namen „Klingelberger“ bekannt ist, weiß die Ortenau besonders mit schmelzig-opulenten Burgunderweinen zu überzeugen. Die meisten Weinberge liegen vor kalten Winden geschützt in steilen Bach- und Flusstälern und summieren sich auf eine Rebfläche von 2.700 Hektar.

Das milde Klima und die 1.700 Sonnenstunden im Jahr machen die Ortenau zur goldenen Weinlandschaft. Der Ursprung für die charakterliche Prägung des Rieslings liegt Im Weinberg: Die Granitverwitterungs- und Gneisböden, teilweise um Porphyr- und Quarzitanteile bereichert, machen den Wein markant mineralisch, strukturell schlank, transparent duftig und lebendig frisch. Der Spätburgunder findet sich oft in den unteren Lagen mit fetten Böden und relativ hohen Sandanteilen. Er charakterisiert sich durch ein komplexes Puzzle aus kühler Frucht, rauchigen Nuancen, samtigen Tanninen, dunklen Beeren und Extraktreichtum. Kein Anbaugebiet Deutschlands ist bei Prämierungen auf Bundes- und internationaler Ebene so hoch dekoriert wie die Ortenau. Die traditionelle Sortenstruktur, Qualität und Exklusivität werden Sie beeindrucken. Detaillierte Informationen zum Terroir der Weinbauregion Ortenau haben wir in unserem Expertenwissen für Sie zusammengestellt. Oder suchen Sie einen bestimmten Winzer in der Ortenau? Bei unserer Winzersuche werden Sie bestimmt fündig.

Region Ortenau

Betschgräblerplatz, 77815 Bühl
Telefon: 07223/9898

Hauptstraße 48, 77955 Ettenheim
Telefon: 07822/1282

Talstrasse 2, 77877 Sasbachwalden
Telefon: 07841/2029-0

Mauerbergstrasse 32, 76534 Baden-Baden
Telefon: 07223/9687-0

Nachtweide 2, 7770 Durbach
Telefon: 0781/93660

Renchener Strasse 42, 77704 Oberkirch
Telefon: 07802/9258-0

Stauferstr. 10, 77972 Mahlberg
Telefon: 07825/7582

Lautenbach 2, 77770 Durbach
Telefon: 0781/42458

Heimbach 12, 77770 Durbach
Telefon: 0781/41486

Waldstr. 6, 77971 Kippenheim-Schmieheim
Telefon: 07825/7411

Steinebach 24, 77876 Kappelrodeck
Telefon: 07842/996999

Burgunderplatz 3, 77876 Kappelrodeck
Telefon: 07842/9967500

Im Offental 1, 77955 Ettenheim
Telefon: 07822/8948-0

Kirchstr. 4, 77871 Renchen-Erlach
Telefon: 07843/654

Weinstr. 87, 77654 Offenburg-Rammersweier
Telefon: 0781/31424

Burgunderplatz 1, 77876 Kappelrodeck
Telefon: 07842/99380

Edekastraße 1, 77656 Offenburg
Telefon: 0781/502-6190

Hespengrund 11, 77770 Durbach
Telefon: 0781/41165

Talstrasse 30, 77704 Oberkirch-Ringelbach
Telefon: 07802/980868

Sondersbach 6, 77723 Gengenbach
Telefon: 07803/7970

Schloss Staufenberg, 77770 Durbach
Telefon: 0781/93 22 79 55

Gaisbach 29, 77704 Oberkirch
Telefon: 07802/2387

Schloss Eberstein 1, 76593 Gernsbach
Telefon: 07224/657071

Am St. Andreas, 77799 Ortenberg
Telefon: 0781/93430

Grol 8, 77770 Durbach
Telefon: 0781/42362

Weinstr. 37, 77876 Kappelrodeck-Waldulm
Telefon: 07842/94890

Weinbergstr. 3, 77933 Lahr
Telefon: 07821/25332

Im Wolfsgarten 1 , 77933 Lahr
Telefon: 07821/54386

Kirchstraße 6 , 77948 Friesenheim
Telefon: 07808/2172

Unsere Winzer in dieser Weinregion